Board of Directors

Ronald W. Thiessen - Chairman of the Board and Director


Ronald Thiessen holds a BComm degree from the University of Saskatchewan and a Chartered Professional Accountant designation. Since the 1980’s, he has concentrated on the management and financing of public and private companies. As Director of Corporate Development for HDI, beginning in 1996, and as President and Chief Executive Officer since 2000, he and his associates have completed in excess of 20 property or project acquisitions, raised over $1.4 billion in equity financing, and built an impressive portfolio of advanced mineral exploration, development and mining projects.

Mr. Thiessen and the HDI directors won the Pacific Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year in 2004, and he and the Northern Dynasty team received the Thayer Lindsley International Discovery Award for the Pebble East deposit in 2007. He was awarded the E.A. Scholz Award for excellence in mine development in 2008 and was named the Business Person of the Year by the Canada-Southern Africa Chamber of Business in 2011. Most recently, he was presented with the 2013 William Lawrence Saunders Gold Medal from the Society for Mining, Metallurgy & Exploration and a fellowship (FCPA, FCA) from the Chartered Professional Accountants of British Columbia.

Russell Hallbauer - CEO and Director (E,H & S Committee)

P. Eng Mining

Russell Hallbauer, has been an integral part in the mining industry for the past 35 years. Since joining Taseko in 2005, Mr. Hallbauer has led the Taseko team in the advancement of the Company through production expansion and asset acquisitions.

Prior to joining Taseko, Mr. Hallbauer was Senior Mining Executive at Teck Cominco Ltd. where he oversaw the Highland Valley Copper mine in central BC and was Chairman of the Joint Venture Compañía Minera Antamina in Peru. Mr. Hallbauer has also served as Teck Cominco’s General Manager of Coal Operations responsible for the Bullmoose, Quintette and Elkview Mines.

A British Columbia Institute of Technology and Colorado School of Mines alumnus, he has been recognized as a leader in the mining industry receiving the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year award in 2010. In addition, Mr. Hallbauer was awarded the Selywn Blaylock Award from Canadian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy in recognition of his work in the advancement and development of the mineral industry in Western Canada.

He is the past Chairman of the Mining Association of British Columbia and was the President of the Canadian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy for 2005-2006.

Anu Dhir - Director (Audit & Risk, Compensation and Nominating & Governance (Chair), E,H & S Committees)

B.A., J.D.

Anu Dhir is a co-founder and executive of ZinQ Mining, a private base metals company that focuses on the Latin America region. Ms. Dhir is also the Managing Director of Miniqs Limited, a private group primarily interested in developing resource projects. Prior to Miniqs and ZinQ Mining, Ms. Dhir was Vice President, Corporate Development and Company Secretary at Katanga Mining Limited, a major copper and cobalt mining company with assets in the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Ms. Dhir is currently a non-executive director of Golden Star Resources Ltd., a gold mining company with operating mines in Ghana. Ms. Dhir is the chair of the health, safety and sustainability committee, member of the nominations/governance and remuneration committees of Golden Star. Since 2017, Ms. Dhir has served on the operating board of Trillium Health Partners, one of Canada’s largest healthcare systems.She is a member of their finance and audit committees and the quality and program effectiveness committee.

Ms. Dhir is a graduate of the General Management Program (GMP) at Harvard Business School, she has a law degree (Juris Doctor) from Quinnipiac University, Connecticut, and a BA from the University of Toronto.

Robert A. Dickinson - Director (E,H & S Committee)

B.Sc., M.Sc.

Robert Dickinson is an economic geologist who serves as a member of management of several mineral exploration companies, primarily those for which Hunter Dickinson Services Inc. provides services.

He holds B.Sc. (Economic Geology) and M.Sc. (Finance) degrees from the University of British Columbia (BC). A strong advocate for the minerals industry, he is a long time Director of the Britannia Mine Museum and trustee of MineralsEd, a very successful mineral resources education program developed for all BC teachers.

Mr. Dickinson was Canada’s Mine Developer of the Year in 1990 and British Columbia’s Mining Person of the Year in 2000. He and the HDI directors received the Pacific Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year in 2004 and he and the Northern Dynasty team won the Thayer Lindsley International Discovery Award for the Pebble East deposit in 2007. He has also been recognized with the 2008 A.O. Dufresne Award for his contributions to exploration and mining in British Columbia and the 2010 Charles F. Rand Memorial Gold Medal for distinguished achievement in mining administration. In 2012, Mr. Dickinson and co-founder of HDI, Robert Hunter were inducted into the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame in recognition of their demonstrated outstanding lifetime achievements benefiting the Canadian minerals industry.

Alexander G Morrison - Director (Audit & Risk, Compensation and Nominating & Governance Committees)


Alex Morrison is a mining executive and chartered accountant with over 24 years experience in the mining industry. Mr. Morrison has held senior executive positions at a number of mining companies, most recently serving as Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Franco-Nevada Corporation. Prior to that, Mr. Morrison held increasingly senior positions at Newmont Mining Corporation, including Vice President, Operations Services and Vice President, Information Technology. Prior to that, Mr. Morrison was Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Novagold Resources Inc., Vice President and Controller of Homestake Mining Company and held senior financial positions at Phelps Dodge Corporation and Stillwater Mining Company. Mr. Morrison began his career with Pricewaterhouse Coopers LLP after obtaining his Bachelor of Arts in Business Adminstration from Trinity Western University.

Richard Mundie - Director (Audit & Risk (Chair) and Nominating & Governance Committees)


Richard Mundie was born in Vancouver and graduated from the University of British Columbia in 1963 with a Bachelor of Commerce degree. He obtained his Chartered Accountancy designation in 1966. He has held a number of senior leadership positions in key organizations in British Columbia and overseas. He has been active in the international mining community and participated in several joint programs to build stronger relationships with the Chinese Government. His experience also includes corporate development, marketing, in addition to mergers, acquisitions and divestitures.

Kenneth Pickering - Director (Compensation (Chair) and E,H & S (Chair) Committees)

Ken Pickering is a Professional Engineer and mining executive with 45 years of experience in the natural resources industry, building and operating major mining operations in Canada, Chile, Australia, Peru and the US. Mr. Pickering is currently an international mining operations and project development private consultant. Prior to this role he held a number of senior positions worldwide over a 39 year career with BHP Billiton Base Metals including President of Minera Escondida Ltda. He is a graduate of the University of British Columbia (BASc) and AMP Harvard Business School.

Mr. Pickering was intimately involved in the planning, development and initial operation of the Escondida copper project and through several subsequent expansion phases that placed Escondida as the single largest copper mine in the world, producing 1.4 million tonnes of copper per year.