Board of Directors

A unified team.


Ronald W. Thiessen

CA -- Chairman of the Board and Director

Ronald Thiessen is an accredited public accountant in Canada. Since the 1980's, Mr. Thiessen has concentrated on the development of venture capital financing for emerging public and private companies. He is a corporate officer and director of several publicly traded exploration and development companies.

Ron Thiessen holds a BComm degree from the University of Saskatchewan and a Chartered Accountant designation. Since the 1980's, he has concentrated on the management and financing of public and private companies.


Russell Hallbauer

President, CEO and Director - P. Eng Mining

Russell Hallbauer, has been an integral part in the mining industry for the past 35 years. Since joining Taseko in 2005, Mr. Hallbauer has led the Taseko team in the advancement of the Company from approximately one hundred million in market capitalization to over a billion dollars.

Prior to joining Taseko, he was General Manager of Base Metal Joint Ventures at Teck Cominco Ltd. where he oversaw the Highland Valley Copper mine in central BC and Compañía Minera Antamina in South America.  Mr. Hallbauer has also served as Teck Cominco's General Manager of Coal Operations, in charge of restructuring the Quintette and Elkview mines, and returning those mines to profitability.

A British Columbia Institute of Technology and Colorado School of Mines alumnus, he has been recognized as a leader in the mining industry receiving the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year award in 2010. In addition, Mr. Hallbauer was awarded the Selywn Blaylock Award from the Canadian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy in recognition of his work in the advancement and development of the mineral industry in Western Canada.

He is the past Chairman of the Mining Association of British Columbia and was the President of the Canadian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy for 2005-2006. 

He was awarded the E.A. Scholz Award for excellence in mine development in 2008 and was named the Business Person of the Year by the Canada-Southern Africa Chamber of Business in 2011.


William Armstrong

P.Eng. -- Director

Mr. Armstrong earned his Bachelors and Masters degrees in Geological Engineering from the University of British Columbia and has more than 45 years experience in the mining industry. He recently retired from Teck Cominco Ltd., where he was General Manager, Resource Evaluations, and responsible for evaluation of potential acquisitions and divestitures. He was also responsible for the company's mineral reserves and resources. During his career with Cominco Ltd., and Teck Cominco Ltd., Mr. Armstrong has been involved in feasibility studies, construction and operation of a large number of mines, including coal deposits, underground and open pit base metal mines and precious metal mines. 


Robert A. Dickinson

B.Sc., M.Sc. -- Director

Robert Dickinson is an economic geologist who serves as a member of management of several mineral exploration companies, primarily those for which Hunter Dickinson Services Inc. provides services.  He holds a Bachelor of Science degree (Hons. Geology), and a Master of Science degree (Business Administration -- Finance), both from the University of British Columbia.  Mr. Dickinson has also been active in mineral exploration for over 40 years.  He is also a director of Hunter Dickinson Services Inc.  He is also President and Director of United Mineral Services Ltd., a private resource company.


George Ireland

B.SC., Director

George Ireland graduated from the University of Michigan with a Bachelor of Science from the School of Natural Resource and has over 30 years of experience in all aspects of the resource sector. He is the Chief Investment Officer and Managing Member of Geologic Resource Partners LLC.


Richard Mundie

CA -- Director

Richard Mundie was born in Vancouver and graduated from the University of British Columbia in 1963 with a Bachelor of Commerce degree. He obtained his Chartered Accountancy designation in 1966. He has held a number of senior leadership positions in key organizations in British Columbia and overseas. He has been active in the international mining community and participated in several joint programs to build stronger relationships with the Chinese Government.  His experience also includes corporate development, marketing, in addition to mergers, acquisitions and divestitures.


Alexander G Morrison

CA - Director

Alex Morrison is a mining executive and chartered accountant with over 24 years experience in the mining industry.  Mr. Morrison has held senior executive positions at a number of mining companies, most recently serving as Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of       Franco-Nevada Corporation. Prior to that, Mr. Morrison held increasingly senior positions at Newmont Mining Corporation, including Vice President, Operations Services and Vice President, Information Technology. Prior to that, Mr. Morrison was Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Novagold Resources Inc., Vice President and Controller of Homestake Mining Company and held senior financial positions at Phelps Dodge Corporation and Stillwater Mining Company. Mr. Morrison began his career with Pricewaterhouse Coopers LLP after obtaining his Bachelor of Arts in Business Adminstration from Trinity Western University.


Linda Thorstad

P. GEO., -- Director

Linda Thorstad is a registered professional geoscientist who brings over twenty-five years of senior management experience in the mining industry to Taseko. Her experience spans exploration and development companies as well as key roles with mid-tier producers. Ms. Thorstad currently serves as the Director, Government and Community Relations and Permitting at Alamos Gold. Prior to Alamos, she was the President and Chief Executive Officer of Orsa Ventures until it was acquired by Alamos Gold in 2013. Additionally, she has been involved in two special government commissions focused on sustainability, land use, resource and environmental management.


Server Info

HTTP_X_ORIGINAL_URL: /board-of-directors
SCRIPT_NAME: /s/board-of-directors.asp
URL: /s/board-of-directors.asp

Page Info

Section Name: About Us
Page Name: Board of Directors
Page Query: /s/board-of-directors.asp


Complete Path: